Abdurrahman Lecture

An association in tissue banking with members mainly from ASEAN countries was established in 1985 in Bangkok after proposed by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Advisory Group. In 1988, the association was renamed from Pan Asiatic Tissue Bank Organisation to Asia Pacific Association of Surgical Tissue Banks (APASTB). Annual Meeting was organised every 2 years in conjunction with international conference, IAEA workshops or seminars.

The 12th International Conference APASTB was held from 2 to 6 June 2008 in Kuala Lumpur in conjunction with the 5th World Congress on Tissue Banking involving European Association of Tissue Banks (EATB), American Association of Tissue Banks (AATB), Australia Tissue Bank Forum (ATBF), Latin American Association of Tissue Banks (ALABAT) and APASTB.  Three Special Lectures for APASTB conference were inaugurated during this World Congress:

  • Glyn Phillips Lecture
  • Abdurrahman Lecture
  • Hudson Silva Lecture

Abdurrahman Lecture was a tribute to Dr Abdurrahman.  The late Dr Abdurrahman, a consultant orthopaedic surgeon and musculoskeletal oncologist, established the Dr. Soetomo Hospital Tissue Bank in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Air Langga University, Surabaya which was inaugurated in 2000. Dr Abdurrahman also set up the Indonesian Association of Tissue Banks and became the first President in 2001.  He passed away in 2005 marking the great loss to Indonesia and the Asia Pacific region. He represented surgeons in the region who was willing to take up challenges in establishing a tissue bank and encouraging the use of bone allografts in transplans despite his busy schedules as a clinician.



Senior Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
Advisor, Kitasato University Bone Bank
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Kitasato University Medical Center
Saitama, Japan

• Medical Director Kitasato University Bone Bank (2003 – 2011)
• Life member of Asia Pacific Association of Surgical Tissue Banking (2004 – current)
• President of Asia Pacific Association of Surgical Tissue Banking (2016 – current)
• Professor Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Kitasato University (2012 – current)
• Assistant Director Kitasato University Medical Center (2015 – current)
• Specialist in bone and cartilage transplant
• Asia Pacific Association of Surgical Tissue Banking President Award 2016